AUT wins big at 2017 Best Design Awards

11 Oct, 2017


11_luciuskoh meta ever after
Lucius Koh’s Meta Ever After won gold in the Student Moving Image category at this year’s Best Awards.

AUT has won big at the 2017 Best Awards - the annual design industry awards dinner held last Friday, 6 October 2017.

This is AUT’s most successful year so far with AUT South’s Mana Hauora (MH) Building winning Gold awards in the Built Environment and Public Institutional Spaces categories. Mary Henry, Jasmax Project Architect also won the Emerging Designer Award. 

AUT Students also featured well in several award categories with more than 20 Art & Design students and staff recognised for their achievements.

AUT Head of Art & Design Professor Thomas Mical said that the awards were representative of the excellent standard of work produced by students.

He says, “AUT has done extremely well at this year’s DINZ Best Awards. On behalf of all the design educators at AUT’s School of Art and Design, we take great pride in our student’s accomplishments in this juried award process, the largest in NZ.”

“The standard of our graduating students, and also our incoming students, continues to noticeably improve, which is fantastic for all of us invested in design education.”

AUT received seven Golds, eight Silvers and eight Bronzes across the eight different design categories.

Congratulations and well done to all who took part in the Best Awards.

See below for AUT’s winners. More information about this year’s Best Awards can be found here.

Phoebe Ellis – Project A (Graphic Design – Student Category)
Alistair McCready – Type as Monument (Graphic Design – Student Category)
Alistair McCready – Kahu (Graphic Design – Student Category)
Andrew Benjamin Lowe – Host of Shadows (Spatial Design – Student Category)
Ella Dobson – I Don’t Know (Moving Image – Student Category)
Lucius Koh – Meta Ever After (Moving Image – Student Category)
Rafik Patel – The Green House (Colour Award Spatial – Professional Category, Residential Award Spatial – Professional Category)

Rob Lewis – Chronicle 03 & 04 (Graphic Design – Student Category)
Maddison Lissington – Perfectly Imperfect (Graphic Design – Student Category)
Stephanie Zwerink – Artifact (Graphic Design – Student Category)
Katarina Marovic – 4 Seasons (Moving Image – Student Category)
Wei Kit Yoon – Me Him Her (Moving Image – Student Category)
Tom Lees – Fin Towel Dryer (Product Design – Student Category)
Emma Scheltema – Modality in Medical Illustration (Public Good Student Award)


Megan Au – Have Here (Graphic Design – Student Category)
Hana Stay – Ecosophies: Field/Mesh/Transversality (Spatial Design – Student Category)
Hasmita Patel & Jolene Lopez – Migration (Moving Image – Student Category)
Sarah Chen – The Fine Print (Moving Image – Student Category)
Haydn Jack – Sideline Streaming (Product Design – Student Category)
Nick McDonald – Kinder Table (Product Design – Student Category)
Carina Webb – Not Just an Udder Stool (Sustainable Product Design – Professional Category)
Anna Han – Convey Day Stay (Public Good Student Award)
Madeleine Racz – The Forgotten (Public Good Student Award)

2017 Best Awards AUT Finalists

AUT also had more than 41 finalists in this year’s Best Awards.

Madeline Lissington - Perfectly Imperfect (Student Graphics)
Megan Au - Have Here (Student Graphics)
Jessica Willemse – I Like It: A conversation about design, with designers (Student Graphics)
Rob Lewis - Chronicle 03 & 04  (Student Graphics)
Phoebe Ellis - Project A (Student Graphics)
Max Coombes - The Country Life of Maungawhau (Student Graphics)
Alistair McCready – Type as Monument (Student Graphics)
Alistair McCready – Kahu (Student Graphics)
Stephanie Zwerink – Artifact (Student Graphics)
Briana Taylor – Quirky Type (Student Graphics)
Jae Woo Park – Hybrid Culture (Student Graphics)
Ella Dobson – I Don’t Know (Student Graphics)
Shalina Sandran - Malhār | Waipuke o Pūoru Iniana (Student Graphics)

Justin Crook - Virtual display systems for museum artefacts (Student Interactive)
Yuan Zhang – Solar School (Student Interactive)
Rob Lewis – Paramaterial (Student Interactive)
Jae Woo Park - Hybrid Culture (Student Interactive)

Moving Image
Ella Dobson - I Don’t Know (Student Moving Image)
Lucius Koh - Meta Ever After (Student Moving Image)
Hasmita Patel & Jolene Lopez – Migration (Student Moving Image)
Barbra Ho – The 39 Steps (Student Moving Image)
Wei Kit Yoon – Me Him Her (Student Moving Image)
Katarina Markovic – 4 Seasons (Student Moving Image)
Nick Peek – Experiential Portraiture (Student Moving Image)
Sarah Chen – The Fine Print (Student Moving Image)
Sam Evans – The Dark Side (Student Moving Image)

Ngā Aho Award

Frank Liu - Rongoā: An Eternal Sunshine of our Mauri (Student Nga Aho)

Eugeen Hwang - The Present (Student Product)
Nick McDonald – Kinder Table (Student Product)
Jay Meissner – Juice Box (Student Product)
Tom Lees – Fin Towel Dryer (Student Product)
Haydn Jack – Sideline Streaming (Student Product)
Anke Nienhuis – Navigator (Sustainable Product Design)
Carina Webb – Not Just An Udder Stool (Sustainable Product Design)

Public Good
Madeleine Racz - The Forgotten (Student Public Good)
Anna Han – Convey Day Stay (Student Public Good)


Madeleine Racz - The Forgotten (Student Spatial)
Andrew Benjamin Lowe - Host of Shadows: Slowness, wabi-sabi, the tea ceremony (Student Spatial)
Frank Liu - Rongoā: An Eternal Sunshine of our Mauri (Student Nga Aho)
Hana Stay - Ecosphies: Field/Mesh/Transversality (Student Spatial)
Lauren Gibbs - The Den Creative Gallery (Student Spatial)

Last updated: 11-Oct-2017 3.44pm

The information on this page was correct at time of publication. For a comprehensive overview of AUT qualifications, please refer to the Academic Calendar.